Service Areas are used to define specific geographic regions to facilitate routing of service requests, assist in more detailed reporting and identify areas where resources are either under or over utilized.

  1. To set up a service area, navigate to Velocity -> ArcGIS -> Service Areas
  2. Click new
  3. Add the name of the service area
  4. Identify the boundary type (Pin, Polygon, Feature Layer)
    1. For a Pin, you can define the pin on the map and then define a radius around the pin
    2. For Polygon, you can draw the polygon on the map (Example: a Park)
    3. For Feature Layer, you can identify the url for the feature layer. (Example: all the Parks within a community)
  5. Identify the restriction
    1. Prevent SR creation in this service area
    2. Restrict SR creation to within this service area
    3. No restriction (this is typically used when you want to use the service area for reporting and not necessarily use it for routing service requests)
  6. Identify the Routing Team and the Routing Queue
  7. Service area type
    1. Ward – this is a specific service area type used to define wards within the community. Typically you would need to add one service area of the Ward type for each unique ward within your community.
    2. Other
  8. Enable for CRM
    1. Indicates if this service area applies to the CRM map settings. This means that the service area will be displayed and used on maps displayed on CRM when the interaction type includes this service area.
  9. Enable for Portal
    1. Indicates if this service area applies to the Portal map settings. When enabled this service area will be used on the portal maps that include the interaction type with this service area.